Bethan Atkinson, Chair of Governors

Read the latest Governors Report

Welcome from our Chair of Governors, Bethan Atkinson

I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to you. My name is Bethan Atkinson and I am the Chair of Governors for the Federation of Ysgol Bryn Clwyd and Ysgol Gellifor. This is a position I’m particularly proud to take up given that I have strong links to both schools; I myself, attended Ysgol Gellifor and have lived all my life in the locality while my mother and my grandmother attended Ysgol Bryn Clwyd. My background is in accounting and education – I spent 26 years as a university lecturer in accounting, and hope that I can bring some of the skills I have learned over the years to bear in my new role.

I have been on the governing body for over 12 years and so am fully acquainted with both schools and the amazing team of staff we have, headed by Mr Lindquist. Their hard work and dedication make the schools vibrant, lively and enjoyable places to learn. I was lucky enough to attend assemblies at both schools at the start of this academic year and was blown away by the confidence and enthusiasm of the pupils and also some of their suggestions on how we could make the schools better- I think the most interesting suggestion was the one to have exotic pets in the classroom!!

The role of the governing body is help the schools continually develop – to help the staff and the pupils achieve their massive potential so that when the children progress to high school they will be fully prepared, academically and personally, for the challenges that they will, undoubtedly, be faced with. Part of my role is to be an interface between the governing body and staff, pupils and parents. As such I am available if any of you have any questions or concerns – you can e-mail me on

Meet Our Governors

FinanceBethan Atkinson (Chair), Ben Lindquist,
Jonathan Kinsey, Merfyn Parry
StaffingCatrin Roberts (Chair), Ben Lindquist,
Amanda Brookes-Jones, Vicky Lyon, Anna Brown
Health & Safety inc. minibusAndrew Mitchelmore (Chair), Merfyn Parry, Ben Lindquist
CurriculumKerri Marshall (Chair), Ben Lindquist, Amanda Brookes-Jones, Vicky Lyon, Ken Williams, Becky Yates
WellbeingEmma Whelan (Chair), Amanda Brookes-Jones,
Tina Leuty, Catrin Roberts, Becky Yates
Staff Disciplinary and
Merfyn Parry (Chair), Jane Borthwick
Staff Disciplinary and
Capabilities (Appeals)
Bethan Atkinson (Chair), Anna Brown, Emma Whelan
Teacher and Headteacher
Performance Management
Bethan Atkinson, Becky Yates
Complaints and GrievancesKen Williams (Chair), Vicky Lyon, Kerri Marshall
Complaints and Grievances
Bethan Atkinson (Chair), Tina Leuty, Adie Griffin
Appointment of
Headteacher / Assistant
Bethan Atkinson (Chair), Jonathan Kinsey, Emma Whelan, Anna Brown, Catrin Roberts
SafeguardingKerri Marshall (Chair), Ben Lindquist, Bethan Atkinson,
Becky Yates
ALNAndrew Mitchelmore (Chair), Amanda Brookes-Jones,
Emma Whelan, Vicky Lyon, Catrin Roberts, Tina Leuty
AttendanceBethan Atkinson (Chair) and Kerri Marshall
Get In Touch
01824 790324
© Ysgol Bryn Clwyd 2023Website by Snowdon Digital
phone-handsetmap-markerchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram